Island Sunset Weddings Testimonials

"SHELLY IS AMAZING! You really could not ask for anything else of a coordinator. She was INCREDIBLY kind,Maui Sunset Wedding creative, and honestly did everything she could to make our vision work. We planned a destination wedding and everything we heard about planning one was that things may be stressful because you never know what your going to get. Well we can tell you that we never felt stressful and actually felt like it was a walk in the park! She has amazing vendors and if there was ever something else we needed she was there to help. Shelly is so good at what she does that she makes the experience perfect! We couldn't be happier and are still in awe. THANK YOU so much for truly making our day a fairytale and dream come true."

Kristine & Jeff Prinz
July 19th, 2014

Aloha Shelly,Maui Weddings

"We had a blast everything was just perfect. I am so glad Kendall told me to contact you. We loved every minute, from hair and makeup, to the minister, and the photographer was just perfect. Thanks for all your help."

Valerie & Anthony Cortez
June 1st, 2014 

Hi Shelly!Maui Weddings

"Thank you for all the help and prep work!
Everything turned out awesome!!"

Freda & Thai Tran
March 16th, 2014

Aloha Shelly,Maui Sunset Wedding

"I just want to thank you again for everything you did. Everything was just perfect, beautiful, and organized. My entire family was wow'd and are still talking about it. You were always quick to respond which made this whole planning process so easy and stress free. I also had numerous people tell me that the wedding meal served was the best they've ever had, Matt and I agree. Gannon's was wonderful! Matt and I decided to come back next year, we had such an amazing time!"

Jasmine & Matt Tiedeken
November 20th, 2013

Aloha Shelly,Maui Sunset Wedding

"I truly can't say enough great things about Shelly and the amazing job she did putting our wedding together. Planning a Hawaiian wedding from the mainland was a daunting task, and she made it incredibly easy on me and my fiancé. Every detail was set to perfection, we got the best spot on the best beach we could imagine, a flower circle that blew our minds, and incredible minister/photographer/videographer/musician - they were all amazing. Once we landed in Hawaii, it was all planned to perfection and all we had to do was go to the license appointment and show up for the wedding! And on top of all that, her prices were incredibly reasonable and competitive. She even bent over backward for us, held our deposit and rebooked everything when I had a medical issue that required postponing the wedding by a month. Honestly, 10 stars if I could give them - she made our perfect wedding come true."

Michelle & Michael
September 15th, 2013

Aloha Shelly,Maui Sunset Wedding

"If you are looking for a wedding planner in Maui, then choose Island Sunset Weddings! Shelly is fantastic! She takes all the worries and stress away from you planning a wedding! All you have to do is tell her what you want and she takes care of it for you! Then you can relax and enjoy!! A+ in my book! We will be having her do our vow renewals, guaranteed!! Much love and thanks to you, Shelly!! A day we will never forget"

Anita & Andy Beveridge
September 3rd, 2013

Aloha Shelly,Maui Weddings

"Thank you so very much for helping our special day be stress free and wonderful :) You truly did a wonderful job and made my life in CA so stress free, knowing that you had everything taken care of!!! We just loved every aspect of our very simple wedding!"

Michelle & Eddie Tiet
June 21st, 2013  

Aloha Shelly!Maui Weddings

"Thank you for everything! You did an amazing job. We created so many memories that will last our lifetime!"

Nicole & Dennis Gee
June 12th, 2013 

Aloha Shelly,Maui Sunset Wedding

"Thank you so much for providing such wonderful services. Everything was just perfect. I wouldn't want it any other way!! :))) Thank you again for everything. I will always remember my wedding day as the day I married my best friend in paradise! I can't say it enough, everything was just easy breezy and PERFECT!! :) "

Diana & Eric Valles
June 8th, 2013

Hi Shelly!Maui Weddings

"Reflecting, thinking about the last 7 days of my life, really I loved every minute of it, what a honor it was to get to have the wedding of my dreams! Thank you Island Sunset Weddings, you did such a wonderful job for us, thank you so much!"

Tarin & Chuck Morris
April 19th, 2013 

Aloha Shelly,Maui Weddings

"Thank you so much for the wonderful day yesterday! And what a beautiful spot you picked out for us at Makena Cove. It was really nice meeting you!"

Robyn & Sean Ahlquist
April 9th, 2013 

Aloha Shelly,Maui Sunset Wedding

"Thank you so very much for bringing about the perfect wedding that we dreamed of!! It was so special to be able to do it "destination-style" on another island and find someone trustworthy. It was a seamless transition in starting the planning over on Oahu via email and phone and then arriving on Maui the day before to meet with you for the first time and do a quick walk through.

Your warm welcome and professionalism put us right at ease and took away all the worries we had. All the services of the professionals you recommended were perfect for me and it was the best decision we made as a couple to have you as our coordinator (aside from the decision of course of our getting married!). Thank you, thank you, thank you!"

Naomi & Adrian Stafford
March 12th, 2013

Hi Shelly!Maui Weddings

"Thanks so much for all your help with the wedding! It was more than I imagined :) Thank you for the wonderful services you provided us! We couldn't have done it without you and all the fantastic people you connected us with for our destination wedding. We'd like to acknowledge the other special folks you recommended during our stay in Maui. Vanessa with Silver Stitch, VIP Nails, Frank from Maui Professional Photography, Beauty by Trisha and Gannon's Restaurant."

Melissa & Adam Pock
February 8th, 2013

Aloha Shelly,Maui Weddings

"Our day was so perfect, thank you for all the work you have done! To the great job Rev. Kimo Kirkman did, and the beautiful pictures that Sara Quinn Photography took! It was perfect!  My family couldn't have had a more memorable time here at the wedding, on the beautiful Makena Secret Beach!"

Thank you again take care,
Carla, Gilles, Courtney & Brett Robidoux
February 1st, 2013

Aloha,Maui Sunset Wedding

"So when my boyfriend and I decided in October that we wanted to run off to Hawaii & get married in December, I quickly started searching the internet on how to make this happen. I was completely unprepared for just HOW MANY companies, ministers & photographers there are on the Hawaiian Islands precisely for this purpose! I emailed a number of companies, but was impressed with Shelly at Island Sunset Weddings. She was very quick to respond & the packages she offered seemed to fit our needs - we were getting married with just the two of us, no frills necessary, but wanted nice pictures. I am extremely glad that we decided to go with Island Sunset Weddings as the entire process went so easily & the ceremony was exactly what we wanted. Shelly was very helpful in picking out a location, a photographer & a minister. I'm also very glad that she suggested that I get a bouquet because I never would have done it myself, but it was a beautiful touch. I would not hesitate to recommend Island Sunset Weddings to anyone looking to get married in South Maui & I wish we could do it all again! In fact, we've already discussed renewing our vows in the future because we loved the experience.

The location, minister, & photographer were 5 stars as well! We got married at Makena Cove which is just lovely - however you have to be prepared to be getting married with at least a couple of other couples! This was actually nice since the only other people on the beach seemed to be involved with other weddings, so there weren't too many gawkers :) Reverend Kimo was our minister & he was awesome. The husband wanted a Hawaiian-type ceremony complete with blowing the conch shell. Rev. Kimo definitely delivered. You can tell that he is a seasoned pro but he is still extremely personable & heartfelt during the ceremony. Our photographer was Frank Baranik with Maui Professional Photography & he was a dream to work with. We absolutely love our pictures!

Amy & Cody Beedlow
December 21st, 2012

Shelly,Maui Weddings

"You were awesome, and so was Cambria Moss the musician and Barry Frankel photography! You were all great, you made everything so special and we appreciate everything you did. We will definitely recommend you to everyone we know. Thanks again!"

Shannon & Michael Morgan November 14th, 2012

ShellyMaui Weddings,

"Thanks for everything! It was just perfect. Couldn't have asked for anything better. I will make sure I post recommendations everywhere and anywhere. Thanks again! "

Chihiro & Pete Santulli November 11th, 2012

Hi Shelly,Maui Weddings

"We finally feel like we are back in the swing of things in Texas... Our wedding was amazing thanks to Island Sunset Weddings! We thank you and all the vendors for executing our dream wedding, both Anon and I couldn't have imagined it any other way. It was truly magical!! Our video from Doug came in before we even got back into Texas (talk about prompt). We can't wait to see our wedding photos!"

Thank you again,
Lauren & Anon Sirimarodham
August 7th, 2012

Thank you Shelly!Maui Weddings

"The wedding was beautiful. We enjoyed you, Sara Quinn Photography and Rev. Dennis De Rego. You and 'your team' were great. We will definitely use you again and recommend you to anyone who is looking to get married or renew their vows! "

Thank you all so much! Audrey & Wayne Brumbaugh
October 11th, 2012

Shelly,Maui Weddings

Thanks so much for everything! The ceremony turned out perfect!!! And you were amazing!!  

Emily & Tim Conders
March 22, 2012

Aloha Shelly!Maui Weddings

"Mahalo for making our evening perfect! We are so eager to see Barry's photos. We are glad to be home in Colorado with our Beagle, but now we are hatching plans to open a Cupcake Shop on Maui. We're hooked on Hawaii! "

Our Best,
The Newlywed Wamsleys!
Monica & Aaron Wamsley
May 15th, 2012

Aloha,Maui Sunset Wedding

"Shelly made our wedding ceremony an amazing experience. She was extremely detail oriented, responsive & resourceful. She gave me suggestions that I hadn't thought about to make the ceremony unforgettable. Had I planned it myself, I wouldn't have known Pastor Vance, the talented guitarist, Kalanai, Caprice Nicole Photography or the stunning beach location she selected, Makena Surf Beach. She made me feel relaxed & at ease, not an easy task! If you are thinking about nuptials or renewing your vows in Hawaii, check out Island Sunset Weddings!"

Meagon & Michael Levitz
November 25th, 2011

Shelly,Maui Weddings

"I just wanted to thank you again for all you have done! We danced all  night and had a great time! It was amazing!"

Emily & Jason Morgan
September 17th, 2011

Thanks for everything Shelly! Maui Weddings
Everything went perfectly!  

Maria & Marcelo Silva
November 10th, 2011

Hi Shelly,

"Thank you for your kind email today.Maui Weddings

The wedding was amazing and everyone told me they felt the same way. To be honest with you, Clint had never been to Hawaii and he wasn't sure about having a Hawaiian wedding. But right after we landed on Maui on August 30th, he loved it there and he's been talking about going back there next year! I am so happy that he loved it there and now we have our special place.

Please stay in Maui forever so we can go back there to celebrate every decade in Maui with you!"

Thanks again for everything!
Clint & Ai Burch
August 31st, 2011

Shelly,Maui Weddings
"Thank you for everything....
our wedding was perfect!!!!
Thank you, thank you, thank you!!"
Brad & Victoria Hargrave
Maui'd August 2nd, 2011

Thanks Shelly,Maui Weddings
"All of the people involved in our wedding were absolutely fabulous!  Loved my make up and hair and Reverend Kimo was incredible! Thanks so much!"
Felix & Beverly Fajardo
Maui'd August 1st, 2011

Aloha Shelly,Maui Weddings
"Thank you for such a wonderful and memorable occasion! We had a great time and can’t wait to see the pictures! I would recommend you to anyone! Hope you have a great summer!"
David & Michelle Tucker
Maui'd June 14th, 2011

Hi Shelly,Maui Weddings
"Bj and I cannot thank you enough for making our wedding everything that we imagined it to be. It all worked out perfectly and Reverend Ricardo was so wonderful! You were so amazing, we honestly couldn't be happier. Thank you again for helping us make our wedding dream a reality. We have the most amazing memories from Maui and part of those memories were thanks to you! "
Sincerely.
Bj and Melissa San Juan
Maui'd June 8th, 2011

"Thank you Shelly for all your help planning ourMaui Weddings wedding!   We just watched our wedding footage....so beautiful! We appreciate all your assistance and couldn't have done it without you"
Mahalo,
Matt & Heather Francis
Maui'd May 15th, 2011

Shelly,Maui Weddings
"Thank you for everything. Kimo was personable, relaxed, and so genuine. Barry did an awesome job with our crowd of 5...photographing kids is not easy. The table at HumuHumu was out if this world. We felt like real VIPs. The kids were ga-ga about the dinner location. Your careful coordination meant that everything was on time and exceeded our expectations."
Thank You So Much,
Ron Burley & Coleen Miller,
Kai, Haven, & Morgan
Maui'd April 20th, 2011

Aloha Shelly, Maui Weddings

"We wanted to thank you for all your help in preparing, planning and making our wedding day so wonderful. We really appreciate all you did! We particularly LOVED our cake and our flowers. I was so disappointed that I couldn't bring the delicious top layer of cake home with us! We enjoyed the Ukulele player as well and were sad that we never even had a chance to thank him! Perhaps we will contact you in the future to help with a vow renewal in beautiful Maui."

Mahalo,
Scott & Kate Dines
February 18th, 2011

Good Afternoon Shelly,Maui Weddings
"We so thank you for our Very Special Ceremony, last evening!

WE LOVED OUR WEDDING...THANK YOU! Everyone loved our special night, they loved the staff, the food ,and most of all YOU for doing such an amazing job!

Your special extra touches to our room made Eli's and my night just perfect...I keep getting butterflies at the thought! Thank you, thank you, thank from the bottom of both of our hearts! Because of you, we have a lifetime to remember such an amazing evening"

Love,
Victoria & Elizabeth Goralsky
February 14th, 2011

Dear Shelly,

"We have been meaning to get to this email for a couple weeks now - and finally today we are able to send it! Once whole month to the day we've been married and it seems like just yesterday we were celebrating and having a wonderful time on Maui! We already received our video and it's fabulous! We watched it over and over today!Maui Weddings

We really cannot begin to thank you for the amazing job you did with our wedding! Our day was beyond perfect and seamless in every way! We need to thank you for your amazing networks, professionalism, promptness and your care and flexibility especially when we were presented with the death of my dear grandfather so close to our big day! Every couple dreams that their wedding day will be the most beautiful and amazing day of their lives - and not for a second did we think it wouldn't be that and more! From our first phone conversation about a year ago, to our actual wedding day - you have provided answers to my questions and more that provided us with the reassurance and comfort that a "long distance" couple such as ourselves needed to be able to move forward with our wedding on Maui!! The whole day we were able to focus on ourselves and our loved ones who were with us, and not worry about the food or the DJ being on time, or if the bouquets would make it to the ceremony! We seriously didn't worry about a thing because we knew you would take care of it if anything came up! Everything was perfect and we absolutely loved it all - from the amazing meal, delicious cake, the beach, the reception, the DJ, our bouquets, and on the list goes! I have to say we both absolutely loved Rev. Kimo and felt honored that he was able to perform our ceremony for us!

As friends and family see our pictures, they keep asking me how I knew about the locations for the ceremony and reception, the Minister, the flowers and so on - and my answer is well "our wedding planner Shelly hooked us up!!" - and that you did!  I just can't imagine doing it any other way and I would recommend you to any couple!

So Shelly, thank you countless times for all of your energy, emails, phone calls, vendors, suggestions, and attention to details, big and small! We are really blessed to have been able to celebrate like that on Maui! What a blessing!

All the best to you and I too will miss our emails! Now on to planning our next reception here in Saskatoon (I could sure use you!!)  It's been very chilly here and even more so we are wishing we were still in paradise! The memories of our amazing day do help to keep us warm though!"

Many, many thanks!!
Take care,

Jill & Zach Flath 
January 26th, 2011

Maui WeddingsShelly,
"Thank you Shelly!
We could not have asked for a better day. Thank you for all of your help."

Don & Jody Hayes December 15th, 2010 

Maui WeddingsAloha Shelly,
"Thank you for all the arrangements to make our day so fantastic "

Thanks again!
Joey & Shauna Hebert
January 20th, 2011

Maui WeddingsShelly,
"Thank you so much Shelly for all that you have done for us!!! Our wedding was a dream come true!!! It was everything I had wished for & I'm glad I chose you to coordinate our wedding! I can't believe how everything went by so smoothly!"

Mr. & Mrs. Wilfred & Christine Vidal
October 10th, 2010

Maui WeddingsShelly,
"Thank you for the wonderful job you did planning our wedding. It is a day we will remember forever!"

Mahalo,
Brian & Val Clark
October 12th, 2010

Dear Shelly,Maui Weddings
"We so thank you for our Very Special Ceremony, last evening!

From the moment you tapped on our window to say "Aloha" to the last picture taken by Barry, we were having fun!

Rev. Kimo was all we could have asked for and more. He blew the Conch, had just the right amount of warmth, humor and reverence, and made us feel so "at home". We could not have asked for more! As we stated last evening, our vow renewal ceremony was so very meaningful and FUN! Please extend to him our many, many thanks!

Barry with his many ideas for great photos, his sense of humor and very professional eye to "get the best shot". Even when he asked that we "jump up in the air", and we were not exactly "Michael Jordan", he kept his calm and had another shot in mind. Barry already sent us three photos - what a guy. We did respond to his email already, but again, please extend to him our many, many thanks!

Shelly, without you, we would not have had a clue where to start to find these great guys that made the day of our vow renewal so very special.

All our Best to you ALL, for your health, happiness and continued success.

September 15th, 2010
30 & 35 Year Double Vow Renewal
Bill & Jan Beebe & Doug & Mary Ellis

Maui WeddingsAloha Shelly!!
"What can we say!!!! Words cannot describe how happy we were with everything that you did for us on our wedding day... it truly was the perfect day for us.

We had a beautiful dinner at Spago's, thank you so much for recommending that for us... the food is amazing! And also, thank you so much for the food that you had sent to our table... delicious... very much appreciated!
So Shelly, all we can say is a huge thank you for making our wedding day so memorable, and thank you for choosing the coolest of ministers, and the very funny limo driver, the cool dude of a musician, the absolutely wonderful Caprice, and the amazing guy Doug.

All in all you put together the best of people, and we send our thanks to each and every one of them for being part of our day. Mahalo Shelly, and rest assured, we will be telling all our friends that getting married in Maui is the only way, and Island Sunset Weddings is the only one to go with!!!"

Mahalo, Carol & Keith McGlynn
September 9th, 2010

Maui WeddingsAloha Shelly & Caprice,
"We are in the process of picking out our pictures. We are COMPLETELY blown away with our pictures. We are so thankful for you capturing our wedding day. We will never forget you.

Shelly, thank you for organizing an AMAZING wedding. Please tell Pastor Vance how much we appreciate him. You three will be a memory in our hearts forever.
God bless you all."

Alex & Allison Vantarakis
September 6th, 2010

Maui WeddingsShelly,
"Thank you so much for making the day so special. As I mentioned, you really made us comfortable and created a wonderful evening for us! Again, thank you."

Guy & Tiffany Dean
August 30th, 2010

Maui WeddingsShelly,
"A huge thank you for making our wedding beautiful and stress free! It truly worked out perfect and we could not of wished for anything more! Take Care!"

Alex & Ralph Diana Datoc
July 28th, 2010

Maui WeddingsShelly,
"We are back home in Austria. It was really fantastic and a lot of fun! Thanks again for this wonderful moment and the magnificent beach on Maui."

Thanks for your congratulations!

Andrea & Constantin Weiss
July 11th, 2010 10 Year Vow Renewal

"Aloha Shelly, Maui Weddings
"We had such a wonderful wedding! Just arriving home & getting back into the swing of things!
Thank you again,

Barry & Debra Waldron
Maui'd March 6th, 2010

Aloha Shelly,Maui Weddings
"Thank you so much for everything, it couldn't have gone more perfect!  It was absolutely wonderful & he was totally pleasantly surprised. I will definitely remember you in the future if one of our daughters decide to come to Maui to be married!

John & Valerie Nettleton
15 Year Surprise Vow Renewal
March 8th, 2010

Aloha Shelly, Maui Weddings
"Thank you so much for all the wedding preparations! We really appreciate it. The ceremony at the beach was awesome. We just checked the wedding pictures & they turned out very nice!"

Mahalo again and you take care,

Werner & Jutta Medlin
Maui'd November 7th, 2009

Thank You Shelly,Maui Weddings
"Our wedding was simply amazing!!! You are a wonderful coordinator. Thank you so much for everything. It was absolutely everything we expected & more!"

Nicole & Greg Ebright
Maui'd November 22nd, 2009

Shelly, Maui Weddings
"Thank you very much for everything. It was wonderful and stress free. What a beautiful setting! Things could not have gone any smoother."

Ben & Gina Michael
Maui'd February 21st, 2009

Dear Shelly,Maui Weddings
"Thank you so much for everything.
The whole experience and the night was our dream wedding but a whole lot better!!!"

Miyuki & Justin Negron
Maui'd February 28th, 2009